Introducing Alero!

Hello Everyone,

My name is Alero Tenumah and I recently joined ICM as a Student Services Officer. As the Student Services Officer, I am responsible for ensuring that students’ needs and inquiries are addressed in a timely and satisfactory manner. I graduated from the University of Manitoba with a Political Science degree with a focus on International Relations. I am passionate about empowering and aiding students achieve their goals in and out of the classroom.

pic-3

I was born and raised in Lagos, Nigeria, and spent some of my high school years in Maryland in the United States. I moved to Winnipeg in January 2011. Despite the ample warning received about the cold winters in Winnipeg, none of those warnings prepared me enough for the blast of cold that greeted me when I got off the airplane. Happily, however, I quickly realized that although the temperatures in Winnipeg could on some days rival the North Pole’s, the city has some of the world’s warmest and most friendly people you’ll ever meet.

pic 1.png

As a former International student, I understand the challenges that come with moving to a new country. The great news is you are not alone. Here at ICM, you will find dedicated staff members who are happy to assist you and can connect you with other international students who are facing similar challenges. As an international student, you’ll also quickly come to find that friendships are very important. Friends become your second family especially during those times you miss home. My advice for you is to throw yourselves into your new environment, try new things and don’t be afraid to ask questions.

I wish you the very best in all your endeavors. Looking forward to having great experiences with you all.

I’ll leave you with my favorite quote

“There is no passion to be found playing small – in settling for a life that is less than the one you are capable of living.”- Nelson Mandela

pic-2

 

Leave a Reply

